Gravenbrucher Kreis announces its

2020 Research and Journalism Awards

  • Entries are invited from researchers and journalists on restructuring and insolvency
  • Gravenbrucher Kreis underscores the relevance of research and journalism
  • Closing date for entries: 31 July 2020
Prize winners Journalism Award with laudators 2018 in Berlin
Prize winners Journalism Award with laudators 2018 in Berlin

Gravenbrucher Kreis is inviting entries for its 2020 Research and Journalism Awards. The competition is aimed on the one hand at junior scholars who have written a doctorate dealing with German restructuring and insolvency law. Moreover, entries are invited from journalists who have reported on events and consequences of the restructuring and insolvency of commercial entities or even entire sectors, as currently witnessed in connection with the corona pandemic. 


This is the seventh time that the Gravenbrucher Kreis, comprising some of Germany’s foremost insolvency administrators and restructuring consultants, will be presenting the awards in both categories with prize money totalling €20,000. Entries must be received by 31 July 2020, and the awards ceremony will be held in November in Berlin.


“Objective investigation by research and journalism is highly relevant to society, especially in times of the corona pandemic and the resulting economic crisis. This is why I’m particularly pleased to be able to present the Gravenbrucher Kreis Research and Journalism Awards for the seventh time in 2020,” declared Lucas Flöther, Chair of Gravenbrucher Kreis. “Our aim is to support academic papers addressing German restructuring and insolvency legislation and to award prizes for especially good journalistic activity on the subject of corporate restructuring and insolvency.”


For the Research Awards, young scholars are invited to submit a doctorate related to German restructuring or insolvency law. Entries must have been written at a university in the European Union or Switzerland and graded above average.

Examples of journalism dealing with corporate restructuring and insolvency may be submitted for the Journalism Awards. Entries must be in German and have appeared in the media. 


To qualify, entries must have appeared between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2020. The closing date for entries is 31 July 2020. Full terms and conditions of the competition can be found on Gravenbrucher Kreis’s website.

The Awards

The Gravenbrucher Kreis Research and Journalism Awards have been presented in these two categories biennially since 2008. This year, the competition is being held for the seventh time. 


The Research Awards are presented by Gravenbrucher Kreis to support young academics working in law and related fields who have completed doctorates graded above average dealing with German restructuring and insolvency law.


The Journalism Awards are open to journalists for features which have appeared in the print media, on television, on the radio or online. As well as national media, entries are also invited from local and business journalists, who often spend months constantly investigating and reporting restructuring or insolvency cases.


The prominent jury for both competitions underlines the awards’ importance. The external members of the jury are:

  • Prof. Reinhard Bork, Chair of Civil and Civil Procedure Law and General Litigation, University of Hamburg
  • Prof. Florian Jacoby, Chair of Civil, Civil Procedure, Insolvency and Corporate Law, Bielefeld University
  • Prof. Stephan Madaus, Chair of Civil, Civil Procedure and Insolvency Law, Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg
  • Nadja Stavenhagen, Director of the Academy of Journalism, Hamburg, journalist, previously editor-in-chief and managing director at Gruner + Jahr publishing house
  • Prof. Christoph Thole, Director of the Institute of Procedural and Insolvency Law and the Institute of International and European Insolvency Law, University of Cologne 

They are joined by four lawyers and insolvency administrators from Gravenbrucher Kreis: 

  • Dr Dirk Andres
  • Volker Böhm
  • Stefan Denkhaus
  • Prof. Lucas F. Flöther